Is it safe using Ayoba?
To keep your data safe and ensure your privacy, Ayoba incorporates sophisticated end-to-end encryption. This ensures that only you and the person (or people) you’re communicating with can read what is sent. Nobody else can read your messages, not even the team at Ayoba.
My phone was lost or stolen, what do I need to do now?
If your phone is lost or stolen, we can help you secure your Ayoba account from unauthorised use. Please follow the steps below:
We also recommend that you call your mobile provider as soon as possible to lock your SIM card and prevent your phone being used by someone else. While your SIM is locked, you will not be able to verify your Ayoba account with that number, since you would need to receive an SMS to complete verification. Two options available:
Use a new SIM card with the same number to activate Ayoba on your new phone. This is the fastest way to deactivate your account on the stolen phone. Ayoba can only be activated with one phone number on one device at a time.
Contact us on support and fill out the feedback form with the phrase “Lost/Stolen phone in the heading. Please deactivate my account” and include your phone number in full international format as described here. Note:
It is important to remember that even if your SIM card is locked, if someone can access your phone and the Ayoba app, it could still be used on a Wi-Fi network. The Ayoba team does not have the ability to remotely deactivate Ayoba. So we recommend that you contact us with an account deactivation request as soon as possible.
Note that the Ayoba team does not have access to your phone location and we are unable to help you locate your phone. Your phone may have an app which can help you do this from another device.
If you did a chat backup before your phone went missing, you might be able to restore your chat history.
Backups are made automatically every 24 hours, using an internet connection. Users cannot enable or disable the backup process. Users, can only create a new backup by clicking on: “Menu” > “Settings” > “Maintenance” > “Chat Backup”. Each account has one backup, when you create a new Chat Backup, your previous backup will be replaced. Backups are only restored after the sign in/ up process! Just after the OTP validation.
Can I report inappropriate content?
We always want to ensure your safety, please report any inappropriate content or behaviour at support, and select the “Report inappropriate content” option. We will investigate and take action if need be.
Note that we may be unable to share the results of our investigations with you, but rest assured that we take all such reports very seriously.
Can I register a complaint against another user?
We prioritise the safety of our users and we do not accept abusive behaviour by our users. Please go to support, and select the “Report a user” option. We will investigate and take action if need be.
Note that we may be unable to share the results of our investigations with you but rest assured that we take all such reports very seriously.